top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureypomuheza

Eleri's Musical Success!

I have to admit, when I signed up for the YPO project for Muheza, I was more than daunted by the fundraising goals: I had never needed to raise any amount of money even close to £2000!

I remember racking my brains, hoping to find ways to raise enough money in time. As a full time student, I knew I would have to work hard in the holidays as I wouldn’t have much time to focus on the project during University.

While I initially raised quite a lot online, thanks to the efforts of friends and family, it sadly was still far from sufficient, and I knew I couldn’t solely rely upon this. My next thought-process was to look into organising fun runs or other sponsored activities, but I was met with little success.

However, after talking to a musical friend who had themselves held a charity concert event for the Alzheimer’s society last year, I realised that this was a route that I had not previously given enough consideration to. I then contacted my old music teacher and we hatched a plan together, to hold a concert in aid of the YPO project.

I have always loved music and have missed it a great deal since leaving school as I don’t have much time to do it at uni, so the prospect of organising this concert genuinely excited me.

I first rounded up as many of my friends from school who were interested in music as I could, and then contacted a family I knew who owned a suitable venue, who generously offered for us to use their hall for free.

After this, with most of the important stuff was sorted, I felt comfortable booking the date into the calendar, set for about 3 months away - Sadly, my lack of prior experience in event-holding began to show through: It came as no surprise to me, as someone who struggled to stay routinely organised, that I had left out the other important details that just had not crossed my mind…

Over the Christmas holidays I ended up frantically writing letters, chasing-up sheet music, begging local businesses to donate raffle prizes, and generally stressing out. Through this all, I had loads of amazing support from my mum, boyfriend and music teacher, who helped me out immensely.

Finally, with less than a week remaining before the concert, I was able to relax knowing that everything was sorted. Despite this, on the night of the concert I could not stop pacing, out of shear dread for having to speak in front of so many people.

Thankfully everything turned out brilliantly when the time came; In spite of my fear, the turnout alongside the generosity displayed by all those donating, was absolutely inspiring!

We raised over £700 from tickets and the raffle which meant I had virtually reached the fundraising goal in this night, taking a huge weight off my shoulders, for which I am so thankful.

I cannot recommend enough to anyone thinking about fundraising to get stuck in in despite any hurdles; it is so rewarding and in my experience was genuinely loads of fun!

Eleri's celebratory smile after singing her heart out!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page